Static GK: Kerala

Kerala is a state on the Malabar Coast of India. It was formed on 1 November 1956. It is bordered by Karnataka to the north and northeast, Tamil Nadu to the east and south, and the Lakshadweep Sea to the west. It is divided into 14 districts with the capital being Thiruvananthapuram. Malayalam is the most widely spoken language and is also the official language of the state. The Cheran Dynasty was the first prominent kingdom based in Kerala. At the time of the Indian independence movement in the early 20th century, there were two major princely states in Kerala: Travancore and Cochin. They united to form the state of Thiru-Kochi in 1949. The Malabar region, in the northern part of Kerala, had been a part of the Madras province of British India, which later became a part of the Madras State post-independence. After the States Reorganisation Act, of 1956, the modern-day state of Kerala was formed by merging the Malabar district of Madras State (excluding Gudalur taluk of Nilgiris district, Lakshadweep Islands, Topslip, the Attappadi Forest east of Anakatti), the taluk of Kasaragod (now Kasaragod District) in South Canara (Tulunad), and the erstwhile state of Thiru-Kochi (excluding four southern taluks of Kanyakumari district, and Shenkottai taluks).

Area38,863 km²
Number of Districts14
State FlowerGolden shower tree
State FruitThe jackfruit
State AnimalIndian elephant
State BirdGreat hornbill
State GameKuttiyumkolum
State TreeCoconut
State DanceKathakali
State FestivalOnam
First in State Chief MinisterShri. E. M. S. Namboodiripad 05 April 1957 to 31 July 1959
First GovernorBurgula Ramakrishna Rao 22 November 1956 to 1 July 1960
Name of the ConstitutionKerala Legislative Assembly
Assembly constituency140
Parliamentary constituency20
Rajya Sabha constituency9

Nick Name of District:

S.NoNick Name of DistrictDistrict
1.Cashew Capital of the WorldKollam
2.Queen of Arabian SeaKochi


Trivandrum International AirportThiruvananthapuram
Cochin International AirportKochi
Calicut International AirportKozhikode
Kannur International AirportKannur

Thermal Power Plants:

Thermal Power PlantsLocation
Brahmapuram Diesel Power PlantErnakulam
Kozhikode Diesel Power PlantNallalam

Hydro Power Plants:

Hydro Power PlantsLocation
Idukki (780.00 MW)Kottayam
Sabarigiri (340 MW)Sabarigiri
Kuttiyadi (225 MW)Kuttiyadi

National Parks:

National ParksNearest City
Periyar National Park‎Kochi
Eravikulam National ParkIdukki
Silent Valley National ParkPalakkad
Mathikettan Shola National ParkIdukki
Anamudi Shola National ParkIdukki
Pampadum Shola National ParkMarayoor

Wild Life Sanctuary:

Wild Life SanctuaryLocation
Chinnar Wildlife SanctuaryMunnar
Kumarakom Bird SanctuaryKumarakom
Peppara Wildlife SanctuaryThiruvananthapuram
Periyar Wildlife SanctuaryThekkady
Thattekkad Bird SanctuaryErnakulam

Stadium Name:

Stadium NameSportLocation
Trivandrum International Stadium or Greenfield StadiumFootball and CricketThiruvananthapuram
Jawaharlal Nehru International StadiumFootball and CricketKochi

Fort Name:

S.NoFort Name
1.Anjuthengu Fort
2.Bekal Fort
3.Thalassery Fort
4.Palakkad Fort
5.Kannur Fort

Palace Name:

S.NoPalace NameLocation
1.Hill PalaceErnakulam
2.Dutch PalaceKochi
3.Kanakakunu PalaceThiruvananthapuram


1.Gundert Bungalow
2.Ambalavayal Heritage Museum


1.Anamudi Peak – 2,695mMunnar
2.Vavul Mala – 2,339 mMalappuram and Kozhikode
3.Chembra Peak -2,100mKalpetta
4.Banasura Hill -2,073mKalpetta
5.Ambukuthi mala – 1,000mWayanad
6.Meenuliyan Para – 1,220mIdukki

River Name:

S.NoRiver NameLocation
1.Periyar RiverIdukki
2.Bharatapuzha RiverMalappuram
3.Pamba RiverAlappuzha
4.Chaliyar RiverMalappuram
5.Chalakudy RiverPalakkad, Thrissur and Ernakulam

Dam Name:

Dam NameLocation
Malampuzha damPalakkad
Idukki damIdukki
Parambikulam damPalakkad
Mullaperiyar damIdukki
Mullaperiyar damThiruvananthapuram

Lake Name:

S.NoLake NameNearest City
1.Vembanad lakeKottayam
2.Ashtamudi lakeKollam
3.Sasthamkotta LakeKollam town
4.Pookode lakeWayanad
5.Vellayani LakeThiruvananthapuram

Temple Name:

S.NoTemple NameLocation
1.Sree Padmanabhaswamy TempleThiruvananthapuram
2.Sabarimala Sastha TemplePathanamthitta
3.Attukal Bhagavathy TempleThiruvananthapuram
4.Ambalapuzha Srikrishna TempleAmbalapuzha
5.Guruvayoor Srikrishna TempleGuruvayoor

Dress Code

Dress Code
WomenMundum Neriyathum
MenKaily or Lungi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *