List of Attorney General of India

The Attorney General for India is the Indian government’s chief legal advisor and is its chief advocate in the courts. They are appointed by the President of India at the instance of the Union Cabinet under Article 76(1) of the Constitution.

A person who is qualified to be the Judge of the Supreme Court of India is eligible to become the attorney general of India. The President makes the appointment in consultation with the cabinet ministry.

Name of the Attorney GeneralTermPrime Minister
M. C. Setalvad28 January 1950 – 1 March 1963Jawaharlal Nehru
C. K. Daphtary2 March 1963 – 30 October 1968Jawaharlal Nehru & Lal Bahadur Shastri
Niren De1 November 1968 – 31 March 1977Indira Gandhi
S. V. Gupte1 April 1977 – 8 August 1979Morarji Desai
L. N. Sinha9 August 1979 – 8 August 1983Indira Gandhi
K. Parasaran9 August 1983 – 8 December 1989Indira Gandhi & Rajiv Gandhi
Soli Sorabjee9 December 1989 – 2 December 1990V. P. Singh & Chandra Shekhar
G. Ramaswamy3 December 1990 – 23 November 1992Chandra Shekhar & P. V. Narasimha Rao
Milon K. Banerji21 November 1992 – 8 July 1996P. V. Narasimha Rao
Ashok Desai9 July 1996 – 6 April 1998H. D. Devegowda & Inder Kumar Gujral
Soli Sorabjee7 April 1998 – 4 June 2004Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Milon K. Banerji5 June 2004 – 7 June 2009Manmohan Singh
Goolam Essaji Vahanvati8 June 2009 – 11 June 2014Manmohan Singh
Mukul Rohatgi19 June 2014 – 18 June 2017Narendra Modi
Kotayan Katankot Venugopal1 July 2017 – 30 September 2022Narendra Modi
R. Venkataramani1 October 2022 – PresentNarendra Modi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *