Static GK: Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh is a state in the northern part of India. It is situated in the Western Himalayas, is one of the eleven mountain states, and is characterized by an extreme landscape featuring several peaks and extensive river systems. Himachal Pradesh is the northernmost state of India and shares borders with the union territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh to the north, the states of Punjab to the west, Haryana to the southwest, Uttarakhand to the southeast, and a very narrow border with Uttar Pradesh to the South. The state also shares an international border to the east with the Tibet Autonomous Region in China. Himachal Pradesh is also known as ‘Dev Bhoomi’ or ‘Land of Gods and Goddess.

Summer CapitalShimla
Winter CapitalDharamshala
Area55,673 km2
Number of Districts12
State FlowerRhododendron Campanulatum
State AnimalSnow leopard
State BirdWestern tragopan
State TreeDeodar cedar
State DanceFolk Dance
First in State Chief MinisterYashwant Singh Parmar 8 March 1952 to 31 October 1956
First GovernorMaj. Gen. K. S. Himmatsinhji 1 March 1952 to 31 December 1954
Name of the ConstitutionGovernment of Himachal Pradesh
Assembly constituency68
Parliamentary constituency4

Nick Name of District:

S.NoNick Name of District
1.All Seasons’State /Apple State


Kullu–Manali AirportBhuntar
Shimla AirportJubbarhatti
Kangra AirportHimachal Pradesh

Thermal Power Plants:

Thermal Power PlantsLocation
Baderi Thermal Power StationNalagarh

Hydro Power Plants:

Hydro Power PlantsLocation
Baira Siul Hydroelectric ProjectChamba
Chamera – I Hydroelectric ProjectChamba
Gaj Hydroelectric ProjectKangra

National Parks:

National ParksNearest City
Great Himalayan National ParkShamshi
Pin Valley National ParkKaza
Simbalbara National ParkDhaula Kuan

Wild Life Sanctuary:

Wild Life SanctuaryLocation
Bandli WLSChail
Churdhar WLSHimachal Pradesh

Stadium Name:

Stadium NameLocation
HPCA Cricket StadiumDharmashala

Fort Name:

S.NoFort Name
1.Kangra Fort
2.Arki Fort
3.Kamru Fort


1.Masroor Rock Cut Temple
2.Key Monastery
3.Rashtrapati Niwas

River Name:

S.NoRiver Name
1.Parvati River
2.Bhaga River
3.Beas River

Dam Name:

Dam NameLocation
Bhakra DamBilaspur
Chamera DamHimachal Pradesh
Pong DamKangra

Lake Name:

S.NoLake Name
1.Prashar Lake
2.Renuka Lake
3.Manimahesh Lake
4.Rewalsar Lake
5.Nako Lake

Temple Name:

S.NoTemple Name
2.Bhimakali Temple
3.Chamunda Devi Mandir
4.Chamunda Devi Mandir

Dress Code:

Dress Code 
Womensalwar kameez,ghagra choli
Mendhoti, kurta, coat, pyjamas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *