List of Vice Presidents of India:

The Vice President of India is the second highest constitutional office in the Government of India after the President.  The vice president is elected by an electoral college consisting of all the members of both houses of the Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote via a secret ballot conducted by the Election Commission of India.

Name of the Vice PresidentTime Period
Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan13.05.1952 – 12.05.1957 13.05.1957 – 12.05.1962
Dr. Zakir Hussain13.05.1962 – 12.05.1967
Varahagiri Venkatagiri13.05.1967 – 3.05.969
Gopal Swarup Pathak31.08.1969 – 30.08.1974
B. D. Jatti31.08.1974 – 30.08.1979
Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah31.08.1979 – 30.08.1984
R. Venkataraman31.08.1984 – 24.07.1987
Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma3.09.1987 – 24.07.1992
K. R. Narayanan21.08.1992 – 24.07.1997
Krishan Kant21.08.1997 – 27.07.2002
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat19.08.2002 – 21.07.2007
Mohammad Hamid Ansari11.08.2007 – 11.08.2012 11.08.2012 – 11.08.2017
Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu11.08.2017 – Incumbent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *