List of Comptroller and Auditors General of India

The Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) of India are the Constitutional Authority in India, established under Article 148 of the Constitution of India. He is empowered to Audit all receipts and expenditures of the Government of India and the State Governments, including those of autonomous bodies and corporations substantially financed by the Government.

Name of the  Comptroller and Auditors General of IndiaTerm Period
Hon. Edmund Drummond1860-1862
R. P. Harrison1862-1867
E. F. Harrison1867-1879
W. Waterfield1879-1881
James Westland1881-1889
E. Gay1889-1891
S. Jacob1891-1898
O. J. Barrow1906-1910
Sir Frederic Gauntlett1912-1914
Sir R.A.Gamble1914-1918
Sir Frederic Gauntlett1918-1929
Sir Ernest Burdon1929-1940
Sir Alexander Cameron Badenoch1940-1945
Sir Bertie Staig1945-1948
V. Narahari Rao1948 – 1954
A. K. Chanda1954 – 1960
A. K. Roy1960 – 1966
S. Ranganathan1966 – 1972
A. Bakshi1972 – 1978
Gian Prakash1978 – 1984
T. N. Chaturvedi1984 – 1990
C. G. Somiah1990 – 1996
V. K. Shunglu1996 – 2002
V. N. Kaul2002 – 2008
Vinod Rai2008 – 2013
Shashi Kant Sharma2013 – 2017
Rajiv Mehrishi2017 to 2020
Girish Chandra Murmu2020 to date

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *