Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Andaman and Nicobar Islands is a union territory of India consisting of 572 islands, of which 38 are inhabited, at the junction of the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea. The territory is about 150 km (93 mi) north of Aceh in Indonesia and is separated from Thailand and Myanmar by the Andaman Sea. It comprises two island groups, the Andaman Islands (partly) and the Nicobar Islands, separated by the 150 km wide Ten Degree Channel. The territory’s capital is the city of Port Blair. The territory is divided into three districts: the Nicobar District with Car Nicobar as its capital, the South Andaman district with Port Blair as its capital, and the North and Middle Andaman district with Mayabunder as its capital.

CapitalPort Blair
Area8,250 km2
LanguageEnglish, Hindi, Tamil
Number of Districts3
State FlowerPyinma
State FruitWild Banana, Ram Phal ,Noni Fruit
State AnimalDugong
State BirdAndaman Wood Pigeon
State Game
State TreeAndaman Padauk
State DanceNicobari dance
First in State Chief CommissionerDonald Martin Stewart (1872 to 1875)
First GovernorCharles Francis Waterfall (1945–1946)
Name of the ConstitutionLieutenant Governors of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Assembly constituency
Parliamentary constituency1

Festival Name:

S.NoFestival name
1.Island Tourism Festival
2.Beach Festival
3.Music Festival / Monsoon Festival
4.Food Festival
5.World Tourism Day celebrations
6.Film Festival

Nick Name of District:

S.NoNick Name of District
1.Man Island


Vir Savarkar International AirportPort Blair
Shibpur AirstripMadhupur
Car Nicobar Air Force StationAndaman and Nicobar
Campbell Bay AirportAndaman and Nicobar Islands

Thermal Power Plants:

Thermal Power PlantsLocation
Surya Chakra Corporation LtdAndaman and Nicobar Islands
Havelock Power House Electricity DepartmentPort Blair

National Parks:

National ParksNearest City
Mahatma Gandhi Marine National ParkPort Blair
Mount Harriet National ParkFerargunj District
Campbell Bay National ParkPort Blair
Saddle Peak National ParkAndaman district


Forests NameNearest City
Mini ZooPort Blair
Biological ParkChidiyatapu

Wildlife Sanctuary:

Wildlife Sanctuary NameLocation
Interview Island Wildlife SanctuaryNorth and Middle Andaman
Landfall Island Wildlife SanctuaryNorth and Middle Andaman
Lohabarrack Salt Water Crocodile SanctuaryPort Blair
Defence Island Wildlife SanctuarySouth Andaman
Cinque Island Wildlife SanctuarySouth Andaman
Barren Island Wildlife SanctuaryNorth and Middle Andaman
Sandy Island wildlife sanctuarySouth Andaman


Stadium NameLocation
Netaji StadiumPort Blair
Rangat Cricket StadiumRangat
Vidya Sagar Mini StadiumRam Krishna Pur
BJR StadiumTamaloo
Dollygunj Mini StadiumPort Blair
Football StadiumPort Blair
Mayabunder StadiumMayabunder


1.Cellular Jail-Port Blair
2.Radhanagar Beach Havelock Island
3.Scuba & Snorkeling-Andaman and Nicobar
4.Jolly Buoy Island Port Blair
5.Howrah Bridge Neil Island
6.Elephant Beach Havelock Island
7.Limestone Caves Baratang Island


S.NoRiver Name
1.Kalpong ( North Andaman )
2.Alexandera (Great Nicobar)
3.Amrit Kaur (Great Nicobar)
4.Galathea (Great Nicobar)
5.Dagmar (Great Nicobar)


Dam NameLocation
Dhanikhari DamDhanikhari
Kalpong DamKalpong


S.NoTemple Name
1.Vetrimalai Murugan Temple
2.Sri Karpaga Vinayakar Temple
3.Shirdi Sai Baba Temple

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *